Advocacy. Awareness. Access.

Congratulations to the 2017 CalHEP Awardees & Nominees

This is an extremely difficult time for California and for our country for a number of reasons, so it is with extra pleasure that the California Hepatitis Alliance announces our 2017 CalHEP Awardees and Nominees for the Sherri Ziegler Community Service Award, the Clinical Champion Award, and the Government Champion Award! The Awardees will be honored at Evening of Hope, on November 11th.

The selection committee had a challenging task because all of the nominees are well deserving of recognition and doing amazing things to address the viral hepatitis epidemics in California. The committee was so impressed by everyone nominated. We thank each of them for their ongoing service and commitment to ending hepatitis B and C in California and beyond!


The Sherri Ziegler Community Service Award

Awardee: Brandie Wilson, Humboldt Area Center for Harm Reduction

Honorable mentions:
Paris de la Rosa & Daniela Mieja, Access Support Network

Pauli Gray, San Francisco AIDS Foundation
Paul Harkin, Glide
Robin Roth, San Francisco Hepatitis C Task Force
Michael Wilk, Health Right 360

Established in 2009 in honor of the late Sherri R. Ziegler, a founding member of CalHEP, the award reflects her dedication to fighting hepatitis B and C. Sherri worked tirelessly to advocate in Sacramento and Washington, DC for those in need of support and services, especially in rural northern California. She loved to travel with her message of hope for people who, like her, were affected by hepatitis C. Sherri also mentored countless advocates all over the rural north. She always had a positive attitude even when she faced obstacles that would overwhelm most people. Along with her advocacy efforts, Sherri provided education, support, and other services for people with hepatitis C in her community. She was an invaluable resource to the Peach Tree Clinic, the Sutter, Yuba, and Butte County Health Departments, and advocacy groups in Shasta and Plumas Counties. This award is presented to an individual who has exhibited outstanding leadership in addressing viral hepatitis in California through advocacy, education, and/or direct services.  Nominations are encouraged for individuals who are leaders in the hepatitis B and/or hepatitis C communities. Previous award recipients include Leslie Benson (2010), Orlando Chavez (2011), Koy Parada & Mimi Chang (2012), and Shirley Barger (2016).


The Clinical Champion Award

Co-Awardees: Annie Luetkemeyer, MD, University of California San Francisco; Christian Ramers, MD, MPH, Family Health Centers of San Diego

Honorable mentions:
Kyle Barbour, MD pending
Andrew Desruisseau, MD
Betty Dong, PharmD
Jeff Klausner, MD, MPH

Established in 2016, the Clinical Champion award is presented to a healthcare provider (e.g., MD, DO, NP, PA, RN, PharmD, PsyD, MFT, LCSW) who has exhibited outstanding leadership in addressing viral hepatitis in California through the provision of clinical services and advocacy on behalf of their patients/clients. The previous award recipient was Dr. Catherine Moizeau.


The Government Champion Award

Awardee: Katie Burk, MPH, San Francisco Department of Public Health

Established in 2016, the Government Champion award is presented to someone working in federal, state, or local government (e.g., elected officials, government appointees, government employees) who has exhibited outstanding leadership in addressing viral hepatitis in California. The previous award recipient was Rachel McLean, MPH.